Google Team Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device. You can access files from your computer using any web browser or you can install the mobile application to access your files from your Android or iOS mobile device. While the files in Google Drive, also known as My Drive, are owned by the drive owner, files stored in a Team Drive belong to the team instead of an individual.
Team Drive is ideal for groups of colleagues who often collaborate on documents together, such as work groups or project teams. Anyone can create a Google Team Drive and share ownership of that Drive — as well as any documents stored there —making it easy for all team members to share in the responsibility of organizing and maintaining the files. Team members can be added or removed from the Team Drive at any time. When a team member is removed from the group, all of the files remain in the Team Drive so that the team can continue to share information and complete necessary work.
When creating a Team Drive, you can then assign Team Drive membership (with Full access permissions) to the Google Group. Once the permissions are granted to your Google Group, access to the Team Drive is automatically adjusted when you add or remove members from your Google Team Drive.
See Google’s Get started with Team Drives page for more information.
Current faculty, staff, and students.
Free of charge